Skip to content

tavi, tavi, tavi

September 20, 2011

“[I’m a] tiny 13 year old dork [who] sits inside all day wearing awkward jackets and pretty hats” – Tavi Gevinson

Firstly, I feel I must admit that I spend so much time on Youtube, that I practically live on it. 

Secondly, I have a MASSIVE girl crush on Zooey Deschanel. I honestly believe she is the most gorgeous gal in Hollywood, if not the world.

She and two other ladies, have created the site Hello Giggles (http://hellogiggles.com/), described as a “lady- friendly entertainment destination for smart, independent and creative females” on their corresponding Youtube channel (http://www.youtube.com/user/hellogiggles).

They have na ‘series’ of what they call Videochat Karaoke, featuring some truly amazing musicians (including Zooey herself):

Now, the Videochat Karaoke video with the highest view count is – surprise surprise – Zooey’s! But second highest? No, it isn’t Rozzi Crane, with the amazing jazz vocals. It’s this weird-looking chick by the name of Tavi Gevinson lipsyncing to T-Swizzle’s ‘You Belong With Me.”

I’ve got a soft spot for jazz singers, so I was completely floored to discover that this video that is – lets be honest – completely devoid of musical talent was more popular that the amazing Rozzi Crane.

The conclusion: it must be something to do with this strange little girl, Tavi. Now, I’m not right very often, but BOY was I on the money this time!
Tavi Gevinson is the very young fashion blogger behind the infamous Style Rookie blog. She began at the age of 11 in 2008; and since has grown in popularity and success. Her fame peaked in 2010, when the Fashion Industry itself decided to catapult Tavi into the spotlight – inviting her to go to the biggest fashion shows, and meet amazing designers.

Having discovered what an intelligent, inspirational and influencial person she is; I’ve now become a huge Tavi fan. I love her quirky outfits, her bizarre-coloured locks and peculiar make-up choices; and I find her ‘awkward adorable’ demeanor absolutely endearing. Her fashion knowledge is amazingly impressive, and I encourage you all to support her 🙂

Rachael

xxxx

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

