Skip to content

WHAT ROSIE LIKES: An introduction of sorts.

December 16, 2011

Hellooo everyone! I am ever-so-sorry that it has been far too long since anything was published on Perdu Dans L’armoire so to reward your faithfulness I would like introduce you to my friend and thrifty fashionista Rosie.

The following post was penned by the affable Rosie Marsland… Welcome to a new series on the blog: WHAT ROSIE LIKES. 

Hey anyone who’s out there, I’m Rosie, a 17-year-old Wellingtonian with a fetish for op-shops and Darren Criss.  Forced into a floor-length hideous uniform Monday to Friday, my fashion sense is ready to explode by the weekend.  I always try to be creative with my outfits, because you never know who’s watching…

Dress, scarf, belt, boots: Opportunity for Animals. Hat: Harry J White. Socks: Glassons. Bracelet: Gold Ore Silver Mine.

I spend every Saturday volunteering at the secondhand shop, Opportunity for Animals. Admittedly, this involves working all day in a mothball-y, dingy shop, wading through sacks of pilled Supré cast-offs and dealing with occasionally creepy customers…

BUT the rewards are great. Namely, bags and bags of vintage, preloved clothes. Oh, and I get to spend all day with one of my best friends, talking about general life and laughing at aforementioned creepy customers. At 3pm, Lucy and I close the doors, pull in the sign and bring out our pile of garments that have “potential”, collected throughout the day. What ensues is like a speeded up shopping spree that takes place in just one shop, Lucy and I pull clothes on and off at high speed, making ruthless and brutal comments about the other like, “you look middle-aged” and “way too Big Fat Gypsy Wedding”.

(Not a look either of us wants.)

By 4pm, we’ve each created a “yes” and a “no” pile, which then get hauled home in plastic bags (Lucy generally goes for a rubbish bag while I have a supermarket bag or two).  And while admittedly a fair amount of the garments get taken back the next week upon reconsideration and our mothers’ opinions (often even crueller than our own), it’s not like we had to pay for them, right?

This weekly process allows me to keep my outfits fresh, steer clear of same-dress-chain-store dilemmas and have an ever-expanding wardrobe, at no cost at all. I can’t believe how lucky I am sometimes, and I’m pretty sure my situation is once-in-a-lifetime. But even if you don’t work there, your local op shop is always a good place to drop by every now and then, because you never know what you might find. Some of my finds need a bit of DIY-ing (the dress I’m wearing above was originally floor length) and I supplement my wardrobe with accessories and such from mainstream stores, but even so, 99% of my wardrobe is proudly op-shopped (testified by the above outfit, 5 out of 7 items are preloved). Anyway, welcome to my series on Perdu Dans L’Amoire: WHAT ROSIE LIKES.


One Comment leave one →
  1. December 17, 2011 2:35 am

    lucid clean writing.. liked it..

Leave a Reply

